In Italy, each municipality has its General Urban Plan (PUG), the main tool for planning and governing the municipal territory. To develop this plan, different Italian municipalities trusted SaferPlaces’ technology that supported them with strategic knowledge on flooding and climate change resilience. Specifically, SaferPlaces helped them to characterise, analyse and map the hydraulic hazard of each territory, and contributed to the identification of mitigation strategies, measures and actions.


The municipalities using SaferPlaces’ technology are:

  • The union of municipalities of “Romagna Faentina”, which includes 6 municipalities: Faenza, Castel Bolognese, Solarolo, Brisighella, Casola Valsenio e Riolo Terme;
  • The union of municipalities of “Bassa Romagna”, which includes 9 municipalities: Alfonsine, Bagnacavallo, Bagnara di Romagna, Conselice, Cotignola, Fusignano, Lugo, Massa Lombarda e Sant’Agata sul Santerno;
  • The union of municipalities of “Rubicone e Mare”, in particular Savignano sul Rubicone, Gatteo e San Mauro Pascoli, Gambettola, Borghi, Longiano, Roncofreddo;
  • The municipality of Cesenatico.

In addition to them, the city of Rimini is planning to renovate in the near future its plan for the coastline, with the support of SaferPlaces.